Recent Topics

Ads

Has Stealth Ever Been Done Well?

Talk about things which are not related to RoR or War.
Forum rules
Before posting on this forum, be sure to read the Terms of Use
Svartypops

Has Stealth Ever Been Done Well?

Post#1 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 12:17 am

Stealth!

When it's suggested that stealth be removed, you always get people justifying it's existance with "it satisfies a demand" or suchlike. I've been playing massive online PvP since DAoC (2001).

I played;
DAoC, WAR, GW2, among others (CoH etc).

I've never seen stealth done well. Have you?

My opinion is that stealth can't be done well, and that it's naturally overpowered. After all, when Tolkein was thinking of a superpower for the most powerful object in the world, he chose Stealth.

Ads
Detangler

Re: Has Stealth Ever Been Done Well?

Post#2 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 3:20 am

Stealth on RoR was great back when it was 30 seconds max. It was used for positioning and short scouting only.
Detangler and alts - 84 Chosen, other 40s - DoK, Zealot, SH, WE, BG, BO
Destro - Mostly Harmless
Tangler and alts - 8X IB, other 40s - RP, SM
Order - Most dishonorable

Martok

Post#3 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 3:34 am

I was leveling my Witch Elf during that period when the stealth timer change was implemented and I have to say I enjoy this manifestation much more.

In other words, it is perfect.

All glory to the Hypnotoad.
Blame It On My ADD Baby...

Sofong

Post#4 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 4:26 am

stealth classes were perpectly fine before the ridiculous buffs.

TrainInVain

Post#5 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 4:30 am

Shadowbane had a few anti stealth classes with a tracking ability. You could bring up a list of all enemies in a zone and select a name from the list you wanted to track. After a short animation, you would get an arrow pointing in the direction of the person you're tracking, regardless of if they were stealthed or not.