Recent Topics

Ads

2h tanks?

Let's talk about... everything else
Snackbar

2h tanks?

Post#1 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:58 am

Hey everyone. I'm totally new to WAR and I'd like to know if dps specced tanks are viable? If yes then which tank classes are good at doing dps? I was thinking about making a knight with 2hander but I've seen many posts saying that they are the best defensive tanks. I don't want to be gimped and useless for my group so is it ok to roll a dps tank or should I go with a real mdps? Sorry if this has been asked already, it was hard for me to find an answer using the search function.

Ads
Toldavf

Re: 2h tanks?

Post#2 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:05 am

With the current mechanics and lack of renown spec you wont hold guard very well and its likely a combo of guard and aoe will kill you.

Allot of tanks are finding this while levelling up their shields have poor block rates and their mitigation is poor leading to them being quickly dead.
Khorlar, Thorvold, Sjohgar, Anareth, Toldavf, Hartwin, Gotrin and others -_-

magter3001

Post#3 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:16 am

Black Orcs (on Destro) and Ironbreakers (on Order) are capable of doing well as 2H tanks. Just remember to not guard anyone (and expect people to be pissed off for not doing so) because guard will kill you really fast without a shield. Everyone has their opinions on 2H tanks but i've seen some really good ones lately. Just make sure you attack clothies like healers and ranged dps if you want to be effective and helpful.
Agrot 35/40 Aggychopp 32/40
Grelin of Magnus/Badlands ;)

Snackbar

Post#4 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:24 am

And what about KOTBS? It's the most appealing tank class to me. If not, then maybe Black Guard? From what I've read he's a mirror class of Ironbreaker.

magter3001

Post#5 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:34 am

Snackbar wrote:And what about KOTBS? It's the most appealing tank class to me. If not, then maybe Black Guard? From what I've read he's a mirror class of Ironbreaker.