Recent Topics

Ads

AMAZED AT SOME PEOPLE

Let's talk about... everything else
Deadpoet

AMAZED AT SOME PEOPLE

Post#1 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:22 pm

I’ve been a high school teacher for more than 20 years now and I can’t help noticing how strikingly similar some of the attitudes in this forum are to some of my teen pupils’ attitudes. You see all kinds of people posting here, from the exquisitely coherent and sensible to the downright emotionally analphabet. I am concerned at the all too familiar sense of entitlement, lack of appreciation and overblown drama of some of the posters.

These attitudes, which often persist into adulthood and even old age, are the result of an adolescent misplaced search for identity. Sometimes, in real life or in games, you witness people getting disproportionately angry at something that only began as a normal conversation. That happens when people don’t have a developed personality and they are identified with an opinion, a sports team, a virtual character, etc. Gaming is nice if it helps you to relax and have fun. If you become so attached to your character that you fly into a rage when something that was GIFTED to you is TEMPORARILY modified then you need help. Even if the gift were to be changed into something else entirely, you shouldn’t act as an indignant customer who’s been robbed of his money. There might be some other concerns and global needs of the game at play.

I played on live and was an asiduous lurker in the Bioware Warhammer forums. Back then, the devs, with one single exception near the very final times of the game we all love, had stopped caring about the game long before its clinical death. During those final times of WAR people who were PAYING A SUBSCRIPTION (hence much more entitled to pressure the game developers)and enduring the staff’s neglect of the game were being much less fussy and demanding than the pampered, infantile whiners we have today in the forums.