Page 3 of 8

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:22 pm
by xpander
EsthelielSunfury wrote:
Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:52 pm
Updated Wine yesterday and Lutris no longer does anything, tried even a fresh install - pressing "Play" holds for a few seconds before reverting back to it again.

Could someone brief me with a few terminal commands to run the scripts you're using to get it going? I have the torrent downloaded again, even the Lutris folder set up, but nothing happens even when trying to open RoRlauncher.exe with Wine.
Disable DXVK from the Lutris configuration. They updated Lutris so DXVK gets enabled by default and if you dont get anything then you probably missing vulkan libraries for your GPU drivers. But anyway this game is broken with DXVK.

I also updated the first post with that info

you can also switch the wine version there to older version, if the newer one doesn't work

Image

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 5:32 pm
by EsthelielSunfury
Cheers a lot Xpander, the launcher started straight away again - shame I have to re-do Enemy configuration but it's okay.

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:00 am
by xpander
If anybody feels Adventurous, theres a way to use DXVK with this game without the bright ground textures.
You need to patch DXVK with This patch

If you lazy - here is the build i compiled with this patch: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FXA2Q ... N_QboPN7xh

huge thanks to SammyJames, who managed to create this workaround



edit: To use it in Lutris!
Spoiler:
-Download the build from googledrive link.

-Copy it to ~/.local/share/lutris/runtime/dxvk/1.6-war
so it will look like that:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ ls /home/xpander/.local/share/lutris/runtime/dxvk/1.6-war
setup_dxvk.sh  x32  x64
- Go to Lutris, right click select configuration on warhammer and go into runner options tab.

- Enable DXVK and select DXVK version to manual and then input the folder name you gave it to (in my case 1.6-war)
Image


Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:33 pm
by Ruscour
xpander wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:00 am
If anybody feels Adventurous, theres a way to use DXVK with this game without the bright ground textures.
You need to patch DXVK with This patch

If you lazy - here is the build i compiled with this patch: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FXA2Q ... N_QboPN7xh

huge thanks to SammyJames, who managed to create this workaround

you can now use vkBasalt with this game. vkBasalt is a Vulkan post processing layer to enhance the visual graphics of games. It is also possible to use Reshade Fx shaders.

i cranked up the sharpness quite a bit (have some more aliasing due to that, but i like sharpness more) :
Spoiler:
Image

Image

Image

edit: To use it in Lutris!
Spoiler:
-Download the build from googledrive link.

-Copy it to ~/.local/share/lutris/runtime/dxvk/1.6-war
so it will look like that:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ ls /home/xpander/.local/share/lutris/runtime/dxvk/1.6-war
setup_dxvk.sh  x32  x64
- Go to Lutris, right click select configuration on warhammer and go into runner options tab.

- Enable DXVK and select DXVK version to manual and then input the folder name you gave it to (in my case 1.6-war)
Image

**IF you have vkabaslalt installed on your system you can go into the System Options tab -> Environment variables and add ENABLE_VKBASALT and give it 1 to enable this.
Does it improve performance?

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:30 am
by xpander
Ruscour wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:33 pm

Does it improve performance?
Not really. This game isn't GPU heavy anyway and engine cap is 100 FPS so you cant go beyond that, however i feel it reduced all those big framespikes quite a bit, those that happened when you got into the new area.
But thats about it.

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:27 am
by Ruscour
As long as it doesn't worsen performance much that's enough for me, I'll give it a shot! Cheers

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:35 pm
by pgt242
Edit: Problem Solved.

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:36 am
by xpander
Fiddled with few of the vkbasalt configurations to make the image sharp, but also have some anti-aliasing.

vkbasalt.conf (without reshade) file in the WAR folder:

Code: Select all

effects = smaa:cas
casSharpness = 0.7
smaaEdgeDetection = luma
smaaThreshold = 0.05
smaaMaxSearchSteps = 32
smaaMaxSearchStepsDiag = 16
smaaCornerRounding = 25
+ with reshade stuff from Sildurs Enhanced Warhammer

Code: Select all

effects = hdr:tonemap:deband:smaa:cas

hdr = /home/xpander/SSDGames/Games/WAR/reshade/Shaders/FakeHDR.fx
tonemap = /home/xpander/SSDGames/Games/WAR/reshade/Shaders/Tonemap.fx
deband = /home/xpander/SSDGames/Games/WAR/reshade/Shaders/Deband.fx
reshadeTexturePath = /home/xpander/SSDGames/Games/WAR/reshade/Textures
reshadeIncludePath = /home/xpander/SSDGames/Games/WAR/reshade/Shaders

casSharpness = 0.7
smaaEdgeDetection = luma
smaaThreshold = 0.05
smaaMaxSearchSteps = 32
smaaMaxSearchStepsDiag = 16
smaaCornerRounding = 25

This makes my GTX 1080Ti GPU utilization go from regular 15% to ~30%

Results:
Spoiler:
Default
Image

Vkbasalt
Image

Vkbasalt with reshade shaders
Image
if the images are not loading:
https://imgur.com/a/PjRTusf
first picture is with vkbasalt (sharpness, smaa, fakehdr, tonemap) and second picture is default without vkbasalt

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 12:22 am
by sagramor81
Install went okay, but the launcher doesn't appear to be connecting.
There's a barely visible dashed outline where the Patch Notes, etc. should be.
WEB SERVER is red.
LOGIN SERVER is yellow.

Re: RoR under Linux

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:51 am
by Ruscour
sagramor81 wrote:
Sat Apr 18, 2020 12:22 am
Install went okay, but the launcher doesn't appear to be connecting.
There's a barely visible dashed outline where the Patch Notes, etc. should be.
WEB SERVER is red.
LOGIN SERVER is yellow.
I don't know how to fix your specific connection issues, but I highly doubt it's a wine issue. The launcher has graphical glitches sometimes for me, but I've never seen it fail to connect when it would otherwise be fine on Windows.

So I'd suggest looking around for general connection issue fixes.